Home Forums Chat Forum Driving EV across France

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Driving EV across France
  • djglover
    Free Member

Hi!

I have been an EV driver for nearly 2 years and been up to Scotland and down to Cornwall. These journeys have not been without their issues though. On the way back from Aberdeen I had to break into Booths car park in Penrith to make sure I could do my final charge to get home, and would have had problems in Cornwall without 32A destination charging!

Has anyone made the journey across France recently? I am optimistic that Ionity and recent opening of Tesla will make this fairly easy, but still a bit concerned about chargers out of action and the dreaded queues, especially as I am making the trip at half term.

I have seen loads of queues at UK chargers in the last 4-5 months. Cobham Services Gridserve and Ionity all in use with queue, Skelton Services 6 Ionity with a 4 deep queue a few weeks ago.

Cheers….

mrchrispy

I try and avoid service station charge point, they are pretty much always full and crap, have much better experience just off the main motorway network. you really need french zap-map….surely there is something.

EV driving in Europe

mrchrispy

Seems ABRP is what you need, personally i’d go for it. it’ll be an adventure :)

djglover
    Free Member

Yeah got Octopus Electroverse app which shows most charge points across Europe, and allows you to pay on many.

shuhockey
    Free Member