Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Do I need gears to be competitive?
  • fr0sty
    Free Member

Ultimately, will I need a geared bike in order to be truly competitive xc racing?

I’ve been riding my single speed for just over 6 months now and am starting to wonder…

tmb467
    Free Member

depends if you can spin fast enough to keep up with someone with gears, really

wwaswas

what he said – if there’s riders pulling away from you over the course of a lap and you feel you’d have gone faster with a higher/lower gear at some point then try gears?

You could pick a course and do two laps on the same day, one SS and one geared and see weather you’re quicker with one?

Aristotle
    Free Member

I did the Ruthin “100K” mtb marathon on a singlespeed a few years ago. I was reasonably fit then.

I was probably almost as quick as I would have been on a geared bike, but did walk a couple of short steep bits and spun out at other times.

Was I competitive? No. I was quite a bit quicker than most, but well down the field.

Other people can be very quick on singlespeeds though.

trail_rat
    Free Member

Terrahawk and shaggy dont think so……

Neither do i actually. 🙂

wwaswas

SS riders do seem to do proportionally better in endurance rather than sprint type races though?

notmyrealname
    Free Member

A lack of gears doesn’t seem to affect this guy in the races!

http://40psi.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/strathpuffer-2013/

trail_rat
    Free Member

Aidan harding and mark goldie also seem to be able to handle them selves on ss

If you do the miles doesnt matter all that much what your on !

mrmo
    Free Member

when was the last worldcup won on a single speed?

njee20
    Free Member

IMO it will always be a hindrance. That’s not to say you can’t be competitive, but I don’t think any individual will ever be quicker on SS than they would with gears.

That’s not to say that you can’t do very well indeed on SS if you’re a strong enough rider.

mattk
    Free Member