• This topic has 55 replies, 28 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by v7fmp.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 56 total)
  • Commuter E-Bike – Give me some advice!
  • v7fmp

Hey everyone,

So a bit of a brain fart here, so bare with…..

I work approx. 13 miles from home. I drive everyday. I have threatened to ride on numerous occasions, but despite my best intentions, it doesn’t happen.

So my current brain wave is to look at a commuter e-bike. But due to my dislike of e-bikes (the usual reasons) i have very little knowledge of if this would benefit me on my ride to work.

The 13-ish miles is basically flat and i would say 95% on cycle paths, so smooth tarmac all the way. What i would ideally like to achieve is to cover the distance in around 45 minutes and ideally without cracking too much of a sweat (although i will change clothes once at work).

Is this achievable? Will the ebike give me sufficient assistance to stop the sweat and cover the distance in a timely manner? Will the ebike give me a phycological boost on the mornings when im lacking enthusiasm (say over riding a non motor assisted bike)

Or am i better off using my gravel bike with some road tyres on it, dealing with the sweat and gain a bit of cardio….?

And finally, is it a false economy to spend 2-3k on an e-commuter, rather than the wear, tear, fuel and associated costs of running my car (Golf R for reference).

Any advice, feedback or similar experiences greatly received…..

convert

I’d say in every other reason apart from time it’s a win. But cycle paths (presumably with some stop and starts, fiddly corners and road crossings) and getting 13 miles done in 45mins is not going to happen. 17mph+ moving average is going some and your ebike would not be helping you due to the speed limiter (apart from the significant help accelerating you back up to cruising pace after every slow down). Ebike or no ebike having to get 13 miles done in 45mins will make a cycle commute stressful.