Home Forums Chat Forum Bangertrackworld – lowering drivers seat?!

• This topic has 35 replies, 24 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by mert.
Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • Bangertrackworld – lowering drivers seat?!
  • RopeyReignRider
    Free Member

So due to my “proper” car (10yr old Ford Mundano) lunching it’s engine, and my currently being a mature student I was forced to buy literally anything I could find.

I ended up with a 22yr old VW polo which was a relative bargain at £550 , fsh, 83k etc

However, at 6’2 and 3/4 inches I don’t fit in it without my head on the ceiling. Interestingly it’s only in the mornings that I’m actually wedged in it – it’s a mere scalp scraping by the end of the day.

Anyway, is there any way whatsoever to lower a drivers seat? Apparently some models of that year had a height adjustable seat so I could attempt to retro fit one (but still don’t know if that would go lower or just go up?!)

Thanks

Compressed of Derbyshire

flyingmonkeycorps

No idea if it would work with a Polo, but an old MX-5 trick was to take some of the foam out of the seat. Might be worth a look?

duncancallum

Unless you can weld the easiest cheap way is cut the foam.

I reckon an adjustable seat may be higher anyway you’d need to try one

muddyjames
    Free Member

Recline it? Seems to be an approach adopted by some. Not sure on safety or comfort ratings

idiotdogbrain
    Free Member

https://www.clubpolo.co.uk/topic/338192-what-front-seats-fit-in-a-6n-without-modding/

Mk3 Golf Recaro fronts seem to be a popular option and may well drop lower.

Kryton57

Cmon now STW where’s the lateral thinking? The obvious answer is Cabriolet…

oldnick

Oh RRR, I have nothing useful to say but please let me see you driving that tiny car sometime :)

Yours supportively, Nicklouse

TheBrick
    Free Member

Needs that clip from the Simpsons with Nelson

matt_outandabout

Indeed, pics please….