Forum search & shortcuts

Frazzle Cycles - Le...
 

[Closed] Frazzle Cycles - Legit?

 Mark
Posts: 4503
Topic starter
 
[#13108302]

So we have had some contact with people who are concerned this is not a legit business.
https://www.frazzlecycles.com/online-store

Anyone had any experience or dealings?

We've been in touch with them to ask for details of their business operations but so far nothing has come back. Just looking for more insight from anyone out there before we do anything else.

We could play a game of list the red flags and see who spots the most?


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 1:46 pm
Posts: 8221
Full Member
 

Posh office address for a sole trader.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 1:50 pm
Posts: 21048
 

Obvs going for all the Brompton commuters in the area


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 1:54 pm
Posts: 10287
Full Member
 

That’s a weird one - fairly fancy website with a lot of detail on it - but listing they are a sole trader. One Canary Wharf is a mixed workspace kind of building with loads of small units with an aim towards startups etc. Going to be fairly high costs for that office (however big) and the website.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 1:58 pm
Posts: 35364
Full Member
 

So, they sell Brompton, Cannondale, Giant, Trek and Specialised bikes from a website, but the only accessories you can buy online are a couple of helmets?

Seems legit.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:06 pm
Posts: 31339
Full Member
 

"trading since 2007"

Yet web.archive.org seems to have no snapshots of the website, as if entirely new.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:09 pm
Posts: 316
Full Member
 

Domain is two months old. Not too much of a red flag in itself

We are available: Mon to Sat 0800 - 17:30

Monday - Friday: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm BST

Which one is it?

They apparently have 8 Trek Domane+ SLR 9s in stock at £10k each, with a photo of a Fuel EX
https://www.frazzlecycles.com/online-store/Trek-Domane-SLR-9-AXS-p596618911. They also have 6 Trek Madone SLR 9 in stock, but when you add to checkout it doesn't ask for a size.

Pretty shonky, if real.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:11 pm
Posts: 3610
Free Member
 

Nowt fancy about the site tbh, it's a Wix template.

So many alarm bells! The address, no companies house data, no contact number, no privacy policy, crap jumbled descriptions, registered a few months ago etc etc.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:12 pm
kelvin and kelvin reacted
Posts: 3073
Free Member
 

No physical presence, not showing on Brompton website as a dealer 


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:25 pm
Posts: 46345
Full Member
 

"Free Global Deliveries"

Aye. Right.

Edit: I should say that site / "company" is as dodgy as a dodgy thing on a dodgy day.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:26 pm
Posts: 1666
Full Member
 

That looks dodgy as.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:26 pm
Posts: 7565
Full Member
 

I wonder where they keep their stock? Cos it certainly wouldn't be n the offices at One Canada Square
https://search.oneadv.co.uk/property/one-canada-square-canary-wharf-london-e14-5ab/


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:27 pm
Posts: 3073
Free Member
 

Not on Trek dealer list either 

dodge


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:27 pm
 Drac
Posts: 50679
 

Absolutely no sign of bacon flavoured corn snacks either.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:29 pm
reeksy, doomanic, sboardman and 11 people reacted
Posts: 8441
Free Member
 

You aren't asked for a size when you add an item to the basket.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:33 pm
Posts: 7565
Full Member
 

Pics are wrong too. Selected the Turbo Vado 3.0 IGH (£3280) at random and the pic is of a Turbo Vado 5.0 IGH (a £4.5K ebike)
So yeah, scammer.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:35 pm
Posts: 8937
Full Member
 

Is there a member discount code?


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:36 pm
Posts: 4528
Full Member
 

London_MMB_S6_Canary_Wharf

Image by mattbuck (category) - Own work by mattbuck., CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=27453476

Not the first place I'd look for a bike shop.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:38 pm
Posts: 316
Full Member
 

Not the first place I’d look for a bike shop.

Plenty of local demand for Bromptons there!


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:43 pm
Posts: 5448
Free Member
 

One Canary Wharf is a mixed workspace kind of building with loads of small units with an aim towards startups etc. Going to be fairly high costs for that office

They'll sell virtual office facilities for £30 a month or so.


 
Posted : 09/01/2024 2:48 pm
Posts: 31339
Full Member
 

There's a news story now.


 
Posted : 10/01/2024 11:04 am