Three Cyclists Nominated For BBC SPOTY

by Chipps 0

Paralympian Sarah Storey, track racer Chris Hoy and Harrington-wearing Tour de Francer Bradley Wiggins make up a quarter of this year’s nominees for the BBC’s Sports Personality Of The Year. Not bad given the amount of sporty stuff that’s been going on this year.

The awards will take place at Excel on December 16th and the winner is decided by a public vote. Given the amount of time we all spend arguing who’s best on here, it’ll be a good excuse to put our votes where are words are (or something like that…).

Nominations this year include all sorts of popular characters, so trying to make sure we get a cycling winner is going to be tough – especially as you have to actually pick up a phone to vote and can’t just click on a mouse. So, be warned!

The list, according to the BBC is: Cyclists Bradley Wiggins and Sir Chris Hoy, tennis star Andy Murray, and athletes Jessica Ennis and Mo Farah… Rower Katherine Grainger, golfer Rory McIlroy, boxer Nicola Adams and sailor Ben Ainslie are other hopefuls. Paralympians Sarah Storey, Ellie Simmonds and David Weir also make the list for the award on 16 December.

Sarah Storey (pic: British Cycling)

The expert panel will also choose the first, second and third places for the Team of the Year, Overseas Personality of the Year and Coach of the Year awards on the night itself, while Young Personality of the year and the Lifetime Achievement awards will be decided by the board of BBC Sport.

More details on voting and timing can be found on the BBC’s page here.