• This topic has 32 replies, 30 voices, and was last updated 14 years ago by mrmo.
Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • She wants a pen for the birthday, Help?
  • Nezbo
    Free Member

My partiner wants a fountain pen for her birthday.

First of all i have about £50 to get one…

I have no idea what to look for in a pen… (i work in IT so no need for pens)

I have been looking at this one Waterman but it don't look anything special. I am also thinking of getting it engraved, so it will need to be cromed or if i am not getting it engraved etc…

She is a school teacher if that makes any difrence, but she may not use it at work, but i dont know. (she just wants one)

Any ideas, and what would be the best pen/deal? and where can i get one from?

blades2000
    Free Member

I have a Cross pen, not sure where you get them from in the UK but it is very nice.

Surfr
    Free Member

Mont Blanc are nice but closer to 130 quid I think. Maybe something out there for 50 though.

beamers

+1 for Cross.

TheSouthernYeti
    Free Member

She wants a Mont Blanc.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

+ 1 for Cross. Available from many good pen shops! My everyday pens are Cross Townsends (Black and Gold).

Mont Blanc are for poseurs only.

One issue here is, different pens suit different writing styles, so it may be best to get her to try one out.

You could always go vintage – http://www.penfriend.co.uk/ – Top shop! I have a couple of lovely old Parkers and Conway Stewarts I inherited and they did a great job with them.

woody2000

Is she left or right handed? I can't use a fountain pen due to my cack handedness, I just smudge the ink all the time! Just a thought….

midlifecrashes

This came up last week, ended up with another Parker, and a cheaper Lamy for away from the desk. She's happy with the Lamy for writing, but doesn't look as good(at 1/5 the cost, not surprising).

Last week's thread

leggyblonde
    Free Member