Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Problem with Rockshox Pike RCT3 Solo Damper knob
  • ndthornton
    Free Member

I’m pretty new to rockshox (at least the ones with the new dampers) having used fox for the last few years. I haven’t taken this one apart yet but I think I may need to as there is definitely a problem with it.

The large high speed compression adjuster knob used to have 3 positions with the firmest being not far off a lock out. Now though it has about 4 or 5 positions and none of them seem to do anything – the fork feels open in all settings. The knob itself doesn’t feel loose or different in any way and clicks between positions nicely.

Is it possible I have turned the dial too far at some point….if so this can’t have taken much effort – I’m hardly a Gorilla when it comes to turning dials.

Otherwise the fork feels as good as normal – its just always fully open which a slight arse-pain.

LoCo
    Free Member

The dial is probably just rotating and not turning the adjuster underneath.

Remove clean and refit.

ndthornton
    Free Member

Cheers, I’ll have a look.

In my experience though simply cleaning thinks is unlikely to fix a problem such as this. will be ecstatic to be proved wrong though

legend
    Free Member

Loco services suspension for a living, definitely worth trying his suggestions 😉

LoCo
    Free Member

It’s attached to the knurled adjuster with a kind of friction lock so if it’s come loose or dirty, the adjust will just spin, if it was attached you’d only get 3 clicks.
    Unless the location pin inside the damper has sheared or deformed, but you’d have to have put a lot of force on the knob to do that.

ndthornton
    Free Member

I know he does Legend…that’s why I’m about to investigate

ndthornton
    Free Member