Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • How did I get to 46 without knowing about…
  • derek_starship
    Free Member

…the BAC TSR-2 strike / reconnaissance project? I’m an engineer who loves all things trains-planes-automobiles, weapons technology, space exploration etc. etc. Yet it was only during a visit to Cosford last week that I learned of the most advanced tactical strike and recon’ jet that never was. How on earth did this pass me by? A fascinating aircraft with a multi-faceted politico-industrial tale interwoven and ultimately neutering what could have been a history making aviation project.

I’m stunned that I knew nothing of it. But thanks to a visit to the museum, I’ve got lots of reading, model making and other research to do. 😀

gofasterstripes
    Free Member

‘Cos we canned it. Probably a mistake. Trashing the tooling certainly was.

piedidiformaggio
    Free Member

Give this a read

Malvern Rider
    Free Member

Cool! Love Cosford all round, in fact had first (and so far only) flying lesson (in a powered glider) whilst in Air Cadets – remember being particularly impressed at the then-radical design of the TSR-2, not least on account of it resembling the Angel Interceptors from Captain Scarlet 8)

wobbliscott
    Free Member

A typical example of a time where we lead the world in so many areas and just frittered it away through a string of crazy political blunders as we sucked upto the US. The Americans basically told us to cancel the project as they wanted to sell us their inferior F111 and didn’t want the competition in the export market. Its a shame we didn’t have the balls and courage to try to stand on our own two feet a bit more. This was basically the end of the independent UK Aerospace industry. A great shame.

molgrips
    Free Member

An alternative point of view is that we simply couldn’t afford to keep developing planes on that scale. We were spending an insane amount of gdp on aviation.

nickc