Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • help me setup CX expert disc brakes please
  • iainc

Picked up my 2014 Croix De Fer today and had an hr fettling with it this evening.

So its got Hayes CX expert discs and whilst I am fine with hydraulic ones I have no experience of mechanicals. I have worked out that the inner pad doesn’t seem to move, and the cable pulls the outer pad onto rotor and then onto inner pad. I’ve worked out how to move the inner pad closer to rotor and how to play with the cable tension.

Whilst rotor is centred in caliper body ok, pulling the lever does tend to push the rotor inwards to the inner pad – can that be adjusted ? I realise its not like self centring hydraulic pistons…

Not looked yet at how pads are removed, and could do with reccomendation for spare pads

Many thanks

somafunk

Adjust the inner pad as close as possible to rotor but not so close that it starts to rub, place brake cable in place on the calliper actuation arm but do not tighten the lock nut, turn the cable barrel adjuster out for 3 full turns then apply the brake to the disc using your hand to operate the actuation arm and tighten the cable in place using the cable lock nut.

This should leave you with a locked on front disc brake that stops you spinning the front wheel, now back off the barrel adjuster till the wheel turns freely without rubbing. You may have to experiment with how many initial tun outs of the barrel adjuster before you get exactly the lever feel you desire as the optimum calliper arm actuation/bite point is different from one manufacturer to another.