Viewing 38 posts - 1 through 38 (of 38 total)
  • Going to buy a cheap 27.2 dropper. Which one?
  • Retrodirect
    Free Member

Hi guys, I’m going to buy a cheap 27.2 dropper post (I am a poor student).

I figure I only need about 80-100mm drop and I’m reaonably light. Been looking at the tmars posts but their are a few different versions with different cable exits and some versions having odd sized cables in them?

Any advice on which one should I be going for or whether other brands are better?

Colin

nickjb
    Free Member

The wife has a T mars and its ok for the money. Worth giving it a grease but it works. Not sure the cable makes much difference but the bottom exit cable housing had the be machined a little to go low enough for her. Should be OK on most frames for normal sized people.

Simon

2nd hand Gravity Dropper if you can find one.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    paladin

Paid £140 for my hilo. Does what it says on the packet!

(If it doesn’t return to full height, it needs a little extra air, pjay)

nickjb
    Free Member

Maybe different ideas on cheap. T mars is £50

superfli
    Free Member

My xFusion hilo will be on its 3rd winter. Its on my HT so gets used more during the winter too. Its been faultless. All I’ve had to do is pump it up a couple of times. £130 it cost too 🙂

gazc
    Free Member

picked up a 2nd hand satori post which is a gravity dropper-esque and about £90 on ebay new. seems well made and and not far off gravity dropper standard, however weighs a bit. also have a gravity dropper btw. not used much in anger yet but i’d be tempted to get another one for other bike…

smurfly13
    Free Member

RSP plummet or Satori Sorata Pro, they are the same post and general view is they are much more sturdy and future proof than the T Mars.

Was a thread on here with somewhere to buy them new for about £75