Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Any guitarists in the house!
  • mactheknife

I have been wanting to learn the guitar for a while now, so went to a local shop the other day and after a lot of help from a very helpful lad bought a nice Walden acoustic.

Apart from buying a beginner book can anyone recommend any youtube links or websites for the absolute beginner.

Ill get a few lessons but cash flow is a bit tight this month after the guitar.

Ta

racefaceec90

http://www.youtube.com/user/JustinSandercoe he has lessons for all ability levels.definitely worth looking at his lessons 🙂

Lootenant
    Free Member

Try justinguitar.com.

really knows his stuff and takes you from the very basics.

edit:

Beaten to it but this is Justin Sandercoe’s site and there’s a lot on here that you don’t get from YouTube

Three_Fish
    Free Member

We all learn in different ways, but having somebody to make sure you don’t pick up bad habits can be useful when you’re starting out. The best advice I can offer is to buy a tuner and make sure your instrument is always in tune; but then learn how to tune by ear (comparing to songs you like and using 5th/7th frets and harmonics to tune each string, for example). And practice, practice, practice. First thing in the morning is the ideal time for learning/retaining. I know it sounds kind of obvious, but learn to use your ears (listen).

goodgugu
    Free Member

Great place to print off free chords and tablature for pretty much every song ever written.

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com

If you don’t know what ‘Tab’ is, it’s music for those of us who can’t read sheet music – shows which strings are held down against which fret – really easy to read and understand.