British Cycling announce team for European ‘Cross Champs

by 0

British Cycling has announced the 16 riders who will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team at the UEC European Cyclo-cross Championships in Hertogenbosch, the Netherlands, on Sunday 4th November.

Reigning junior world champion Ben Tulett is back in action in the junior men’s race and will be looking to improve on his bronze medal from last year’s European Championships. Ben’s brother Dan Tulett will line up in the under-23 race, alongside former junior world champion and the 2017 under-23 European silver medalist Tom Pidcock.

In the elite women’s race, Nikki Brammeier, Beth Crumpton and Helen Wyman will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team.

Zonhoven Superprestige grit
Helen Wyman will represent GB once again

Matt Ellis, cyclo-cross co-ordinator for the Great Britain Cycling Team, said: “It’s a really exciting time for the sport of cyclo-cross in this country, and the Great Britain Cycling Team who will compete at the European Championships reflects this.

“At the elite end, we have two established and successful riders in Nikki and Helen, who between them have held the elite women’s national champion title since 2006.

“We than have a host of developing riders who can look up to and learn from these two riders, particularly around how they approach major competitions.

“This year, we have been fortunate enough to receive support from Nikki’s ‘Mudiiita Euro Scholarship’ initiative. We share their aim of providing opportunities for young talented cyclo-cross riders, and thanks to their funding, we have been able to run training and race camps, both in the UK and in Europe. I’ll be looking for these junior riders to build on what they’ve learned at the camps and apply it at the European Championships.

Will Pidcock match his previous Worlds success?

“Looking at the squad list for each age category, I think we have some serious contenders for the podium and I think we can look forward to some exciting racing.”

Great Britain Cycling Team for the 2018 UEC European Cyclo-cross Championships:

Elite Women

  • Nikki Brammeier
  • Beth Crumpton
  • Helen Wyman

Under-23 Men

  • Thomas Mein
  • Tom Pidcock
  • Dan Tulett
  • Ben Turner

Junior Men

  • Dan Barnes
  • Ben Tulett
  • Simon Wyllie
  • Jenson Young

Junior Women

  • Anna Flynn
  • Ffion James
  • Anna Kay
  • Josie Nelson
  • Maddie Wadsworth

For more information about how to get into cycling visit

Leave Reply