Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Zwift + tacx flow + samsung tab s4 ANT+ issue
  • brungle
    Free Member

Does anyone use a tacx flow on Zwift with a Samsung android tablet and is able to pair it as a controllable trainer?

If I do manage to pair it as a controllable trainer (using Ant+) the tablet has to be right beside the trainer and it just loses signal as I move the tablet and start riding. No watts recorded but rpm still is.. rider doesn’t move)

It seems ok paired as the power source and cadence sensor (via bluetooth) and it also seems to be controlling the resistance as I ride in zwift (which is confusing when its not paired as controllable? Is this even possible?)

I think Zwifts Ant+ android support is perhaps limited and not supporting FEC?
    Do I need to give up and use a laptop with am Ant+ dongle or is my trainer faulty?

All i really care about is Zwift being able to control the trainer resistance.

I’m a total Zwift/smart trainer noob so any help appreciated.

Cheers

BadlyWiredDog

https://forums.zwift.com/t/ant-compatibility-in-the-android-app/172939

That’s from December 2019 and seems to say that the Android app doesn’t work with ANT+

More generally, if you do use an ANT+ dongle, it’s worth investing in an extended USB lead so you can put the dongle as close as possible to the trainer to avoid drop-outs.

househusband

Just a suggestion but try turning on your tablet’s GPS.

I had problems with my Kurt Kinetic trainer pairing with any device until Kurt suggested it; they can’t keep up with platform updates. I pointed out that this wasn’t on their online support and they acknowledged that their online support can’t keep pace:

‘The location tracking is a fairly new issue, hence it not being everywhere in our marketing yet. Apple and Android updates always seem to give us some consternation.’

If it worked for me it may for you.

Poopscoop

To be clear op, it pairs and controls the trainer when the tablet is close to the turbo??