Your Little OCD's (and fighting them)

Home Forum Chat Forum Your Little OCD's (and fighting them)

Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 44 total)
  • Your Little OCD's (and fighting them)
  • shifter

That all sounds like common sense to me.

Premier Icon unknown
    Subscriber

Indeed, OCD is a genuine mental health condition and can be very unpleasant for sufferers. I’m no expert but the compulsive behaviour is driven by a need to avoid an obsessive thought – eg I must lock the front door 3 times or something very bad will happen.

It’s one of my pet hates when people say “oh I’m so OCD about that”. No, what you have there is a habit/preference.

atlaz

mikewsmith – so you fight your urge to be early for flights by going earlier? I think you’ve got “fighting” and “going along with” mixed up πŸ˜‰

That said, I’m exactly the same with flights. I’ve loved flying since I was a kid but I really can’t be relaxed until I’ve got past security and I’m in that purgatory of shops and double-price Weatherspoons. That said, if I fly from Luxembourg I have it timed to a tee so I have enough time for one drink before the plane leaves.

Premier Icon mikewsmith
    Subscriber

I have to be on time for flights (on time is when check in opens) I struggle to relax until I get through the check in and security. The upside is I have not missed a flight yet but the downside is I spend a lot of time in airports.
    The fighting them is that in order to take the bike to NZ for this work trip I upgraded to the lounge access with extra luggage (as it costs the same as eating/drinking in an airport for 2 hrs) I am 5mins walk from the gate in the lounge with free food & beer, comfy chairs and no weirdos but have 40mins to get to the gate. Hard not to stay here…..

Whats yours?

Premier Icon footflaps
    Subscriber