• This topic has 23 replies, 19 voices, and was last updated 4 years ago by paton.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • XT wandering bite point warranty return success ?
  • howsyourdad1
    Free Member

Hi, i have some XT brakes, bought in 2018.  (m8020)

Initially loved them , but the wandering bite point is here to stay it seems despite several bleeds etc. Has anyone  in a similar situation warrantied them? Are the new ones  (M8120) better?

Ta!

Akers

I think the warranty on XT components is 1 year (2 years on XTR) so unless you bought them late last year you may be out of luck. I sent back my XTR M9020 brakes back to ChainReaction for the same issue, replacements haven’t been any better. I have no experience with the latest M8120 or M9120 versions though.

Mister-P
    Free Member

Warranty is 2 years except XTR and Dura-Ace which gets 3 years.

Akers

Ah Cool!

chakaping
    Free Member

Have you tried doing a bottom-up bleed?

And checked you rotor’s not worn? That can give same feel IME.

Perhaps try with a new one if not sure. And check your pads as well obvs.

I did get a Zee warrantied at a similar age for this issue though, FWIW.

bloodyshins
    Free Member

This is what totally put me off Shimano brakes. It’s happened on every single one of the 5 sets I’ve had over the years and nothing has cured it. Zip tieing the levers to the bars over night makes them feel ace for the first descent but it soon comes back. I sent my last set of XTs back to crc for a refund. But that’s CRC, generally no quibbles with warranty because they can absorb it. Not sure what Maddison would do with a set returned via your LBS.

I did see this video shortly after I swore off them for the last time. Totally different way of bleeding them from the syndicate mechanic. Got to be worth a try.

How to Bleed a Shimano Saint Brake with The Syndicate’s Marshy.

scotroutes