Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • XC MTB racing, where to start?
  • dedrater
    Free Member

Fairly interested in getting started in this, looking for pointers for a complete novice, looking to build fitness this year and start next year. Any advice appreciated!

kilo

Why wait, jump straight in would be my advice

Larry_Lamb
    Free Member

Well, I doubt you’ll be doing too much racing the season is practically over.

Search for series on say Google/British cycling.

Do you want to accrue points to climb the British cycling series ladder?

stumpy01

As close to the start line as possible, facing in the direction of the course….

Sorry…

😆

dafoxster
    Free Member

I would also recommend to jump straight in. I started XC racing straight after buying my first mountain bike, my bike skills were pretty bad and my fitness was awful. However I entered the easiest categories to start with and I learnt a lot very quickly. I was never troubling the leaders but neither was I last. I espcecially enjoyed the wheel to wheel racing. I also found fellow competitors were very supportive and would offer lots of useful advice.

chum3
    Free Member

Agreed – crack on!

There’s so much to MTB racing that’s not fitness based, which is best learned through experience. Everything from how to organize yourself, learning what you like to eat / drink when racing, what pre race prep that works for you. You even race on the same courses from one year to the next, which is great to know.

Also, it’s easy to put racing on a pedestal (oooh – it’s a RACE!), and to build it up more than you should. The more races you do, the more you come to realise it’s nothing more than a bunch of people thrashing round a forest for a while… It’s great fun though!

fasthaggis

Look at any early CX races in your area and have a go on your ATB MTB.

amedias
    Free Member

looking to build fitness this year and start next year