Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 57 total)
  • WWII Dornier bomber
  • tails
    Free Member

Firstly that’s a lot of money to raise a load of corroding metal and secondly as it’s the only one don’t the Germans want it? Do they have war museums in Germany I’ve never been lucky enough to visit.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-22846645

Have it flying in a week 😆

CountZero

I’m sure the Germans would love to have it, but it was in our coastal waters, and we raised it.
    A few cans of WD40 will put it right, that’s for sure. Now, if they can only find a Ju-82 Stuka…

Underhill
    Free Member

Real life Airfix collection.

ernie_lynch
    Free Member

According to an article in the Telegraph : The aircraft is said to be in “remarkable condition”. Other than the effects of the sea, such as barnacles, coral and marine life, it is largely intact. And they publish this photo :

Now I’m no expert but that doesn’t look like an aircraft in “remarkable condition” to me. It looks like a total wreck.

They then go on to say : The main undercarriage tyres remain inflated but the propellers clearly show the damage inflicted during the bomber’s fateful final landing, experts have said.

Yeah right. It’s those damaged propellers that are a dead giveaway.

Last surviving German bomber lifted off bottom of the Channel

Merak

What happened to the umpteen Spitfire’s than were found buried underneath that runway in Burma?

stewartc
    Free Member

I imagine that bomber will get dropped off at a local Essex garage and it will be ‘cut and shut’ back to its former glory in a week.

Apparently the Spitfires in Burma did not exist and the operations been called off.

GrahamS

Pfft that’ll polish right out.

hora
    Free Member

I bet in the vast expanses of Russia there are lots of basically mint German planes, tanks etc. Youtube/Russia turns loads up

stumpyjon