Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Wrist pain
  • skydragon
    Free Member

Three or four months ago I started riding a hardtail for the first time ever, along with my FS bike. I now realise that I had the brake levers set wrongly for me, in that they were angled too far forwards, rather than pointing down in line with my wrists.

Riding a bike like this over gnarly trails has taken it’s toll. The result is that I’ve knackered my left wrist. The symptoms are that the wrist is sore and (more worryingly) I can’t seem to put any weight on my left wrist without it ‘giving way’ ie. if I try and sit up in bed, I can’t use my left arm to bear my weight. It feels like a similar injury to having twisted an ankle, when you can’t put much weight on that ankle and it hurts. I also can’t fully clench a fist, especially with my index and ring fingers. My right wrist hurts a tiny bit but nothing compared to the left.

I’ve reduced my riding over the last 3 – 4 weeks, only ridden my FS and made sure the brake levers are ok and my wrist has slowly seemed to be getting better. But a 12 mile stint round Gisburn at the weekend and the pain and weakness is back again.

Any advice on how to get better? this is really starting to frustrate me. Thanks.

martinhutch

If you must ride, make sure your levers are in the right position now. Still might be too low. Put some bar ends on (!) so you can change hand position regularly. Thicker foam grips. Maybe you need to change the height and position of your bars temporarily to keep your wrists in the right position.

And a decent physio. My rule of thumb is that if normal activity is still causing pain during and after, then the underlying issue needs to be worked out, and you might need to back off and let your body heal.

hainman
    Free Member