• This topic has 30 replies, 21 voices, and was last updated 10 years ago by IanW.
Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Woe is us content – Victim of the obesity epidemic.
  • pictonroad

So, with everyone getting fatter I can’t get clothes to fit anymore. I work in construction and we’ve just had a new delivery of kit, even the small stuff has all this bagginess where they expect my belly to be.

Fitted shirts now have extra space in the middle region, Most ‘small’ stuff is like a tent billowing round my midriff, I HATE baggy shirts, they make you look work experience.

Cycling gear seems to be the worst offender, presumably catering to a MAMIL stereotype that I’m sure doesn’t exist. Bought two size small tops, perfect length sleeves, neck size etc and there it is, the gut pouch awaiting to be filled. Altura small shorts have a 35″ waist FFS!

I’m not a freak, 5’8″ 36″ chest, stuff used to fit me.

sighs.

edited – typo – 35″ waist, not 39″

jam-bo

Altura Shorts Sizes
    Size Waist Inches
    Small 27”- 29”
    Medium 30”- 32”
    Large 33”- 35”
    X Large 36”- 38”
    XX Large 39”- 41”
    XXX Large 42”- 44”

growinglad
    Free Member

Well I’m no fat boy, but I could do with loosing a few KG’s. Okay, I’m 6.1, but even so, Endura Large comes up snugg.

pictonroad

Altura attach waterproof shorts, got a pair at home, they failed to stay on me to an alarming degree so I measured the waistband.

zippykona

Have you ever measured how big a pair of 32 inch jeans really are? Mine are 33 1/2 .

phiiiiil

My newer 32″ jeans are noticeably larger than my older ones. I’d expect it to be the other way round, as the older ones go saggy with age, but not so.

(I’ve got a t-shirt from a kids range too… the wife mocks me cruelly, but it fitted much better than the so called “small” one!)

bigblackshed

Men’s clothing sizes, in particular waist sizes, have never been what the item physically measures. The “fashion” industry call it vanity sizing.