Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Woburn – where else during winter / wet weather ?
  • Trimix
    Free Member

I love Woburn, especially during winter conditions. Also used to ride Area 51 down near Deepcut till it got fenced off.

So, apart from Woburn, where else is similar for a bit of winter fun ?

ampthill

It’s the best but

Chicksands has some XC and lots of more challenging stuff. But the same surface

Rushmere, which is linkeable to Woburn. Includes the Trek trail and a few newer trails cut when it officially opened to the public. Again the same surface

I assume you are aware of the behind the church stuff at Woburn? But best approached by not riding past the church

Trimix
    Free Member

I occasionaly ride Chicksands, love the duel track. Ive been riding Woburn for about 15 years so know it pretty well. Also do Rushmere as part of my Woburn riding.

There must be other places that are of the same soil condition and full of pixie built trails.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    Akers

Swinley is a good bet in winter. It’s mostly low level XC type riding but it’s sandy soil, so doesn’t get too sticky. The official routes are hard wearing, and there is a bit extra to keep you interested if you head out into Crowthorne wood, and some jumps to session on Babaymaker, Bikini Car Wash, etc around ‘The Clubhouse’ area.

Trimix
    Free Member

Yes, cheers Akers. Swinley I know and have done some off-piste stuff round there. But is there anywhere else not already mentioned ? Or is it just Swinley / Woburn / Chicksands and Trail Ctrs for the winter.

And no, I’m not getting a CX bike to embrace the mud. I tried that and it was not for me.

Chilterns Im local to and that’s pretty much off limits in the winter unless it freezes over. Same goes for the Cotswolds which I’m also close to.