Viewing 32 posts - 1 through 32 (of 32 total)
  • winter road bike tyres
  • Simon

Morning 🙂
    I’m new to the world of road cycling and I’ve just got myself a Triban 3 for winter commuting.
    From what I understand the standard tyres aren’t that good, so I need some recommendations for puncture resistant tyres to see me safely through the cold, dark winter months. Don’t think I can fit anything bigger than a 23.

fenboy

looks like the frame will take mudguards, so you should be able to fit either 25’s + guards or 23’s + guards.

guards sks p35’s or if clearance a problem sks raceblade longs.

tyres

continental gatorskins (folding decent ones not the wire bead ones)
    continental gator hardshells

wukfit
    Free Member

gp4000s

LS
    Free Member

Michelin Pro4 Endurance

asterix
    Free Member

Conti 4-seasons

Shibboleth
    Free Member

gp4000s

I found these to be lethal in the wet… I’ve got some Michelin Lithions on at the moment and I’ve not noticed any bum-twitching moments, so they must be OK… Cheap as chips too.

Can’t comment on puncture resistance yet, but managed to get through the traditional hedge-cutting season with no fizzers!

wheelie

+1 for lithium. One puncture in two years. I have some 23mm for sale brand new £7

mrmo
    Free Member

running pro4 service course at the moment and they are fine, really don’t like the contis i have used in the past.

I do wonder about conti, some seem to love them and some hate them, very marmite?

Shibboleth
    Free Member

In fairness, the GP4000s I had were blue – the compound was hideous, rock hard and shiny… It was like descending on roller skate wheels in the wet!

I have a pair of old Conti Gatorskins which were much better but the Lithions have a herringbone tread on the shoulders which seems to hang on a bit better when it’s greasy.

Wheelie, did you get the freebies from Michelin too? I got the Pro4s too – tyres coming out of my ears at the moment… 😀

asterix
    Free Member