Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • windows xp key
  • sweepy
    Free Member

On of the clients I work with has an old sony laptop which she wants to use for basic net surfing via a dongle.
    Problem is, the dongle wont install without SP1, and when I tried to install SP1 from a memory stick it wouldn’t let me cos of a problem with the product key. She got no discs or anything when she brought it, and just to complicate things further the CD drive is a tiny non-standard one.
    Can anyone give me any ideas on getting her connected?

coffeeking
    Free Member

Ubuntu.

TheFlyingOx

+1 for Ubuntu.

The only computer not running it in my house is the wife’s laptop cos she doesn’t find it as easy to save every single bloody thing she downloads to the desktop as she does on Vista.

sweepy
    Free Member

I did think of that, but im a bit trepidatious as i’ve never tried anything other than windows before, and despite my clients being grateful for any help like this, if things don’t go well they can get a bit ‘complainey’

hugor
    Free Member

If it had genuine windows installed before there should be a sticker somwhere on the machine with the product key.
    Many pc companies dont give you the installation disc anymore.
    Otherwise connect it to the internet and do a windows update.

greeble
    Free Member

brought it

where did she bring it from?

BROUGHT! ITS BOUGHT!

sweepy
    Free Member

I never thought of looking for a sticker 😳
    Cant connect to the internet without the dongle but I spose we could go somewhere with wifi and use a wifi dongle.

MSP

In what way is she a client? If she complains, shop her to the feds for illegal software 😈

If the product key is dodgy, then you will have the same problem with updates as installing a service packs.

Don’t load linux unless you know the dongle will work with it first, most will these days but not everything is compatable.

sweepy
    Free Member

Fair cop Greeble

schrickvr6