Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 87 total)
  • Why cm
  • redmex
    Free Member

I was looking at the post about removing the fireplace and not wanting the house to fall down and when I see centimetres mentioned I immediately think blue peter or schoolteachers definitely not building trade experience.
    It’s either millimetres or metres and no confusion and you may have guessed Im in the trade
    So have centimetres got any use anywhere

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

It’s a bigger sounding number than using inches. If you need that.

kayak23

It’s what’s taught in school innit.
    I learned in CM, but as a woodworker, I use MM….and CM…..and inches…..and feet…. and fathoms… whatever people say to me I have to convert.
    Mostly MM makes sense I think.
    Feet and inches can bugger off…

It’s a bigger sounding number than using inches. If you need that.

True, people don’t seem to like to say seven hundred and fifty millimetres, and would rather say seventy five centimetres… It’s ok, but it’ll generally tell you that they are not in the trade.

jam-bo

try decimal feet..

Stoner
    Free Member

Real Estate is such a backward industry, much of it is still quoted in square feet and acres.

10.7639 is a number I have to use v often 😉

wwaswas

try decimal feet..

It’s only people in Norfolk that still have to use base 12 when using their feet…

IHN

Surely if they say ‘millimetres’ and not ‘mil’, they’re obviously not in the trade?

kayak23

When you buy timber, very often it’s bought in Imperial, because it’s imported from the States etc, but when you start cutting it up it’s in MM…
    Crazy world…

redmex
    Free Member

I used millimetres to get the point across but definitely 750 mil never 75 whatevers, as for imperial I did get both at school but it’s a useless measure too although I like miles and 32″ for jeans

bruneep