Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 78 total)
  • Why am I such a soft **** on road bike descents
  • mcnultycop

So I still calm myself a mountain biker but I’m probably 70% on the road at the moment. It’s easier for me to get a quick ride in and I’m enjoying the road at the moment. On the mountain bike I’m a reasonable descender; not worrying the top of the Strava leaderboards but decent enough. A session with
    Jedi really helped my confidence after an MTB arm break crash a few years ago.

However, on the road bike I struggle to keep up with my club on descents. I used to think this was because I was a big lad (125kg when I started riding with them) and I didn’t like the feeling of picking up speed quickly with only 25c tyres. I’m down to 99kg so that isn’t really an excuse any more.

I’ve not a disc braked road bike, which helps as I have faith in the (shimano so sometimes leaky) brakes. I’ve gone 28mm and tubeless which also helps. My bike fit is dialled in, which definitely made a difference.

However, I’m still a lot slower than I like. On a long straight descent if I get up to maybe 45 to 50km/h I just don’t like the feeling and scrub some speed off.

However, if it’s twisty and steep I really struggle. The list of things that make me slow down are:
    It being steep
    Tight bends
    Signs telling me it’s steep
    Loose gravel
    Crap road surfaces
    Not knowing what the road layout is
    No barriers at the side of the road
    Drops at the side of the road
    Bushes at the side of the road
    Traffic

Basically in my head I’m imagining all sorts of terrible stuff happening, so slow right down. This means on really steep descents I’m at an absolute crawl, watching my club shoot off down the hill. On one, maybe 15%+ twisty descent in the Yorkshire Dales I was absolutely terrified.