• This topic has 60 replies, 49 voices, and was last updated 10 years ago by D0NK.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 61 total)
  • Who commutes in their work clothes?
  • zippykona

If I go directly to my shop it’s 3 miles. I still need to change clothes and wash my bits .
    Even if it was a mile i reckon I’d still be a sweaty mess.

buck53

Yep, no way I could do that. On my commute I only seem to be able to go flat out, couldn’t pace myself if I tried. Plus, you know… hills.

JEngledow
    Free Member

I always commute in work clothes, but then I do drive 🙄

Shred
    Free Member

Yep, but then I only live a mile from my work place.

alexpalacefan

Yep. But it’s only 4 miles, and I’m a mechanic, so don’t need to be too tidy.

APF

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

Yep. Occasionally, in the warmer times of year, I’ll have a cheeky change of shirt and/or a Greek shower when I get to the office, but usually just bimble along in a Dutch commuter stylee wearing whatever I’m wearing to work that day. If it’s really wet, then I do carry a change of trews/shirt, however.

bokonon
    Free Member

As with Shred – I only ride a mile, so wear work clothes.

scaled
    Free Member

No chance, my commute always seems to turn into some kind of interval based hell

sam3000

3 miles, sweat like hell always cycle ‘too fast’ according to my manager.

I never used to take a change of clothes.

I found if i ride to work in my cycling gear it saves time when i get in. I can swap bikes from road commuter to mtb and go straight out again.

julianwilson
    Free Member

My 5.5k ride to work includes going up a 12% 1km hill in amongst the other hills. Occasionally in the middle of winter I don’t arrive in a red-faced sweaty heap!

davidjey
    Free Member

‘Dutch style’ commuter here. 4 miles, but helps that it’s (a) pancake flat and (b) cycle path pretty much door to door.