Viewing 39 posts - 1 through 39 (of 39 total)
  • Which stans rim?
  • saxon1989
    Free Member

So I’m stuck in this dilemma….
    Crests flows or arch
    So I’m just over 70kg and ride fs on single track and xc.
    Im no pro, however still learning the ropes and want rims that will stand the test of time.
    So dilemma continues. I’ve kinda figured would be safe to choose arch as its in the middle. However there’s just no super deals out the for the arch wheelsets.
    And plenty for the other 2..
    So as I’m light will the crests be strong enough for trail?
    And will the flows be too heavy for climbing and xc?

RealMan
    Free Member

You’ll probably be fine on crests, I’ve been doing horrible things to my 355s for years now (sort of like an older version of the crest) and apart from a few superficial dings they’re fine. I’m a bit lighter then you, but on a hardtail.

stevied
    Free Member

I was in a similar dilemma a while ago. 90kgs riding weight and riding a 6″ full sus. Decided on the Flow as I’d rather have a bit of extra strength than slightly lighter weight. They have served me well so far and are easy to set up tubeless if that’s on your list.
    I did think of Arch EX but, as you say, no real deals on them..

orangeboy
    Free Member

I’m a little lighter 60 kg , and use stans mmx on my hardtail
    And arch ex on my enduro
    Always been impressed how much stans stuff can take , I’d say stick with crest for xc and normal riding

The only wheel of there’s that I’ve buggered is my race gold but did use them
    On a cx bike where I should have used mtb

tom200

I have an arch ex 29er on the rear. Seems to be strong enough for me 70kg rinsing a hardtail mostly on “aggressive xc”.

saxon1989
    Free Member

Wow this is mixing things up..

smatkins1
    Free Member

Sounds like Arch Ex’s are the rim for you.

I wouldn’t let the lack of deals available stop you getting the wheels which are right for you. Either wait or splash the cash 🙂