Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Which HRM?
  • Superficial
    Free Member

I’m looking for a heart rate monitor (HRM), but I don’t really know exactly what my needs are – that’s where you guys come in. I want a HRM mainly because I’m curious about the physiology (I’m a doctor, but sports medicine is a bit of a dark art to me), but also to improve the effectiveness of ‘training’ rides and get fitter. I mostly ride (XC and a bit on the road) but also do the occasional run.

I have strava on my iPhone – does this mean I don’t need a GPS HRM? Or is there some sort of training benefit to having GPS data alongside heart rate? Whilst it would be nice to sync heart rate with Strava, is it actually that helpful?

I understand I can get an ANT+ thingy to go with my iPhone, and then I can buy a HRM strap and use that with Strava. But surely that’s rubbish for real-time heart rate measurements (unless you have the iPhone on a bar mount which I don’t want to do)?

Should I get a bike-mounted one, or is something like the Garmin forerunner range a better shout since it’s more versatile? Can you get a bar mount for a watch-style HRM, or vice versa a wrist band for a cycling-oriented GPS?

What features do I want/need and why? Besides current heart rate which is obviously standard there are loads of options (av HR, time in various zones etc) but I don’t know if I’d ever need to use them?

Do I need to spend £200 on a Garmin Edge 500 or will a heart rate monitor watch from Decathlon do the trick?

couldashouldawoulda
    Free Member

I’m guessing that’s about 12 questions and 6 assumptions. 😯

Anyway, I’m no expert, but having had a few HRMs, the answer will depend on you really. A cheap standard GPS is great for sticking to zones etc. But the worst ones give unreliable HR readings esp at the start of a session (eg 10bpm – 350 bpm inside a minute).