Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Which Electric Piano keyboard?
  • aberdeenlune
    Free Member

Impatient waiting for my fractured wrist to heal and advised to avoid gripping with my left hand I am looking for something productive to do. My guitars will be gathering dust for a while. So which electric piano/keyboard should I buy?

I am a complete beginner. Would like something light, portable with a reasonable sound and a line out so I could plug it in and play it at an open mic night once I master a couple of songs. Any recommendations? Budget is nothing too professional/expensive as I’m a beginner but needs to be something I can plug into an amp with a sound good enough for the pub.

Cletus

I have bought my duaghter a Yamaha EZ-220 for Xmas – £150 from Argos.

Gets pretty good reviews and seems to have some good features for a learner.

I am looking forward to using it to channel my inner Frank Sidebottom.

leffeboy

It’s going to depend if you want something that sounds and plays like a real piano or if you just want some accompaniment.  You also want light which is the enemy of a good ‘feel’.   It’s even tougher as you are a beginner so won’t really be able to tell the difference between how they play so much although you will probably be able to hear it

In this case I would take a pair of headphones with you down to a keyboard shop and listen to how they sound, even if you have to get someone in the shop to play them for you (why not).  When I was looking for one for my daughter she could hear and feel the differences up to a couple of grand so it will just be a case of stopping at the point that is good enough and not too painful on price.  Take the headphones as the built in speakers won’t be great until you go up in price a bit.