Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Which company for pet insurance ?
  • landcruiser
    Free Member

Our Dog insurance is up for renewal, and there seems to be more and more conditions and exclusions along with a fairly large price hike ! This is not due to claims. Anyone done the research and got any recomendations ?

JulianA
    Free Member

Don’t buy pet insurance – just save the money and pay up if you have to, and keep the savings if you don’t…

anagallis_arvensis

We use M&S not the cheapest but will cover conditions for life up to 7000 each year.

the-muffin-man

Don’t buy pet insurance – just save the money and pay up if you have to, and keep the savings if you don’t…

You’ve obviously never had a pet that’s cost you thousands in vets fees!

We’re with MoreThan for our dog – cover and cost seemed good compared to the others.

JulianA
    Free Member
    peaks
    Free Member

It doesn’t matter which company exactly, but as a vet I always recommend and indeed use PetPlan. They very rarely refuse to pay FULL costs as they are run by vets and understand veterinary conditions, as opposed to just being a regular insurance company who may try to short change you on a few conditions. They also have no upper age limit and do not keep increasing premiums with advancing age.

At the end of the day, know what you are buying is the most important advice. There are three types of insurance out there:

1. Condition specific – they give you a certain pot of money, say £3000 for a single condition. As soon as you reach that £3000, your pet will not be covered for that condition ever again. As it is now classed as pre-existing you also can’t switch to another company which may have covered it. This tends to be more than, direct line etc

2. Time specific- they will cover a certain condition for 12 months, but after 12 months will not pay a penny more for life! This tends to be your cheap supermarket brands.