• This topic has 35 replies, 26 voices, and was last updated 5 months ago by hugo.
Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • Where to put a bit of inheritance money…
  • Premier Icon bob_summers

Right, so I’m due to inherit some money* in the UK (half of Dad’s estate, plus eventually half the proceeds of his house if we ever manage to sell it). I am an EU resident and don’t have a UK address. This money needs to go somewhere so AFAICS I’ve got two choices – open a basic bank account in the UK (which they are obliged to give me I think), or get it transferred to my Spanish account in EUR.
    I prefer the first option atm as I don’t need the money for anything immediately, and I guess moving it to EUR will be quite expensive.
    Third option might be to open an multi currency account (eg Transferwise) and get it sent there but I know nothing about them.
    The Spanish taxman will want a slice too – I need to look into that. I’m also aware that come the end of the year, the B-word might complicate things.

Any words of wisdom? I am utterly crap with anything money related.

*Don’t know exactly how much, but I’d imagine around 100k after it gets divvied up

Premier Icon mrmonkfinger
    Free Member

Spain taxes something that UK already taxed?

yeowchio

edit:

looks like,

uk tax might not be that bad, depending on how big the estate is:

https://www.gov.uk/inheritance-tax

£325k is tax free; if it’s involving a house being gifted to children, that goes up to £500k tax free

then 40% on the remainder.

Premier Icon csb

Won’t be taxed as income in the UK. The estate would be taxed before it gets to you (if over the nil rate band). If you keep it here interest on it over an amount would be taxed (but you won’t be broaching that any time soon).

Exchange rate into Euro is shit, and there may be teouble for tbe Euro ahead, so I’d suggest keeping it in pounds as a hedge against euro tanking.

Premier Icon P-Jay