Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 59 total)
  • Where to live in Bristol?
  • endurancenut
    Free Member

I’m moving to the Bristol area in a few weeks time. I’m currently living in SW London, and have had enough of the smoke. I’m looking for an area that has good job opportunities, easy access to the countryside, and friendly people. Bristol fits the bill nicely.

I don’t want to live in the city. Instead I’d like to be outside the city in a village/small town. I want peace and quiet. But it’s also got to be great for cycling. I’m mostly a roadie, but also do some MTB’ing and will definitely do more if there’s some good off-road routes close by. Cycling is my passion, and the rest of my life revolves around it.

I haven’t got a job yet, but I’m working on that. So in addition, it’s got to be a cycle commutable distance from the city center and industry in Bristol. I work in IT and have a wealth of currently relevant experience so do not expect to take long finding a job. When I say commutable, I’d say a maximum of 10 miles each way.

I will initially be renting, and will look to rent a small house – max budget is £1000 per month, which is what I’m currently paying for a tired 2 bed flat. I will look to buy as soon as I’ve found my feet in Bristol. I don’t have kids and so I’m not concerned with access to schools, etc.

So where’s the best place for a cyclist to live outside the city?

Daffy

If you want a village and a commute less than 10 miles, it’ll really depend upon where you end up working. There’s a huge amount of industry in Filton (north Bristol) which is 6 miles from the centre; so 10 miles from the centre might not be 10 miles to Filton.

I live in a village ENE of Bristol. I cycle about 15 miles, but it’s pretty hilly.

Bath is really nice, and if you’re working in the centre, there’s a great cyclepath between the two.

enigmas
    Free Member