Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 47 total)
  • When is going through a red light and killing someone NOT dangerous driving?
  • druidh
    Free Member

When you’re driving a police car, silly!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-20158333

I’m gobsmacked that a jury could pass a not-guilty verdict in this case.

legend
    Free Member

I’m not surprised. Maybe a careless driving charge, but they couldn’t do him for that

cynic-al
    Free Member

I take it you know more than the minimal facts on that story druid?

Even on what’s there, doesn’t seem so cut and dried to me, but I’m no expert.

The officer said he believed the taxi driver had seen him and had slowed down to let him pass, but that the taxi’s speed then increased.
    PC Brown told the court that he immediately applied his brakes when he realised the taxi was coming through the junction, but said it was too late.

nealglover
    Free Member

I’m gobsmacked

Are you really ??

Seems to make perfect sense from the details in the link you posted.

druidh
    Free Member

According to current legislation, a driver is guilty of dangerous driving if:

* the way he or she drives falls far below what would be expected of a competent and careful driver
    * it would be obvious to a competent and careful driver that driving in that way would be dangerous

Maybe my expectations of competent and careful are too high?

althepal

Pc gets off with a more severe charge, paramedic gets done for lesser charge even though person who walked/ ran in front of his response car was drunk, and up to his eyeballs on meds…
    Hmm.
    Edit- poss not up to his eyeballs, but still..
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-19651054

legend
    Free Member

But at the same time Druidh, if you were in an emergency situation you’d expect the police to be giving it some with blue’s n two’s wouldn’t you?