• This topic has 13 replies, 9 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by IA.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Whats happened to the 11 speed hope cassettes?
  • damascus
    Free Member

I’ve been running an 11 speed hope cassette for a few years now, 44/11t.

I’m on my 2nd aluminium top cog but it’s got teeth missing and some are bent. I’m hoping to get away with re using the bottom steel cogs as they look OK.

I asked my lbs to get me a replacement but it’s not available from the hope website and I can’t find any online.

Do they just have a lack of stock due to covid and Brexit or have they stopped making it? Just worried they’ve removed it from the website which suggests theyve stopped making them.

I hope not as I have the hope freehub which only fits a hope cassette and I’ll need to change that too! 😪

Onzadog
    Free Member

I hope they’ve not gone either. I’m still getting on really well with my 10-48. Been through a few alu sections but the stainless is still going strong.

monkeyboyjc

I’ve just assumed they aren’t being made anymore? – could be the time consuming and high machining cost Vs lack of demand and ‘progress’ to 12sp…. The cost of other companies highly machined 12sp cassettes range from £250 up now – rotor, kcnc and Ingrid all do cassettes in the £300+ range….

impatientbull

It’s marked as discontinued in the product document section of their website:

https://www.hopetech.com/product-documents/drivetrain/#!11-spd-cassette

damascus
    Free Member

@impatientbull

It’s marked as discontinued in the product document section of their website:

Well spotted.

Bugger! That was an expensive experiment then!

OK, so what reasonably priced 11 speed cassette that doesn’t weigh half a kilo?

swanny853