What UST or TLR tyre + inner tube on Mavic 819?

Home Forum Bike Forum What UST or TLR tyre + inner tube on Mavic 819?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • What UST or TLR tyre + inner tube on Mavic 819?
  • Premier Icon garage-dweller
    Subscriber

In my experience usr/tlr tyres and a tube just do not work well on those rims. get your pressures and sealant sorted and stick at the tubeless.

I found nobby nics ok with a tube in. I also find blasting up with co2 helps get them seated on the odd occasion that I need a tube.

Premier Icon garage-dweller
    Subscriber

I have been running 819s exclusively tubeless for 8 years+ and resorted to a tube lead than a dozen times and for most of that time used cheap art latex as sealant.

Ime the tyre s rarely sit as well with a tube in but well enough to get you home.

dantsw13

I have 819 rims and run them tubeless no issues. They are very tight to get a tube in, but if you really work th bead into the centre of the rim it’s fine. I’ve run mine with X kings, N Nics, MK2’s and most recently Chunky Monkey/Smorgasbords from On-One. I ripped a few nobbles off X Kings on rock gardens, bu other than that they’ve all been fine.

Are you sure your stans wasn’t old and out of latex?

Running a NN Evo on 819 on the back and Stans milk – riding on a rough farmers lane last night, suddenly heard a loud intermittent metallic clinking noise caused by a very large wood screw three inches long and 1/2″ dia hitting the chain stay- pulled it out, milk sprayed everywhere but after a quick rotation and pump to get it back up to a decent pressure it was fine and tonight when out again no issue – sounds like the milk could have gone off.

Gilles

Hi,