Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • What MAC/CS5 set-up?
  • Whathaveisaidnow
    Free Member

I’m going to be getting a MAC for design work/freelancing, working mostly from home.

I’m a bit old skool, what are people out there using? And what’s the most cost effective – this is an issue!

I was thinking Macbook, because of the convenience? Is CS5 smooth and capable on a Macbook?

Sorry in advance to any Apple nerds, . . . but to me it’s just a tool! 🙂

Cheers

the-muffin-man

The only downside to running on a Macbook is the screen size. IMO you need a big monitor to make the best of the app as there are lots of floating menus which eat into screenspace.

Speedwise it will be fine.

Raindog
    Free Member

I’ve got a 20″ iMac, and I would rather have a bigger screen.

Whathaveisaidnow
    Free Member

bump . . . tish

anymore?

jeff

cost effective? perhaps a new mac mini and a something like a samsung 24″ monitor for about £120

I’m a developer though so maybe you need a higher quality screen.

mastiles_fanylion
    Free Member

Macbook Air and a separate monitor? You could get a decent set-up for about £1200

muppetWrangler
    Free Member

When I first started freelancing I bought macbook pro and used an additional cheap 24″ screen as a main work monitor. The reason was that I wanted to be able to take stuff with me and tinker whilst with clients and also to be able to run windows via bootcamp. It worked fine but once I had a bit more money put aside I added a 27″ imac which is now my everyday workhorse. I still have the original 24″ monitor which I occasionally use as a second monitor if what I’m working on requires it.

CS5 runs perfectly well on the now couple of year old mackbook pro so would only be better on a current model.

Loved the idea of the magic mouse but found that i can’t really use it for really extended times without getting a sore hand/wrist so have swapped back a less clever but more ergonomic logitech mouse.