What instruments do you play?

• This topic has 46 replies, 39 voices, and was last updated 1 month ago by  nickc.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 47 total)
  • What instruments do you play?
  • Premier Icon gnusmas
    Subscriber

Just a curious question really. Part of me is thinking of learning something, utilising some free time (when I eventually get some) and something to focus on.

Tom B

I’m a guitarist for a living. When he was about 40 my dad decided to learn the guitar, every 10 year old wants to do whatever their Dad does don’t they? ….and thus my future career was born.

It’s a very rewarding thingto do to learn even the basics of an instrument, and can also be a very sociable thing too.

Premier Icon seosamh77
    Subscriber

maccruiskeen

It’s like the 1850s version of ableton live! 😆

Premier Icon maccruiskeen
    Subscriber

It’s like the 1850s version of ableton live!

remember that thread about ‘What do dance acts do when they’re performing live?’ Well behind that big console one of the Orbital brothers is doing this, the other one is doing his self assessment tax returns.

Premier Icon seosamh77
    Subscriber
    Premier Icon seosamh77
    Subscriber

To the OP, just pick something, anything, and start, once you get by the first 6 months/year, you’ll probably not give it up, getting by that year is difficult mind you. But just start, even 15 minutes a day is fine, 8 hours a day is better mind you, but 15 minutes a day is enough to get you going.

Having no time isn’t really a viable excuse, you don’t need much to learn a few chords, beyond that, you get what you put in.

johndoh

I can’t play any 🙁 never had the opportunities as a child nor the dedication to stick with it when I was able to afford to pay for it myself (tried bass and electric lead guitar).

My wife plays the viola and piano. Daughter number one plays piano and flute, daughter number two plays piano, drums and sings.

craig24