Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • what flavour of linux for an oldish lenovo laptop
  • geoffj

I’ve got a 2013(?) isn Lenovo laptop that is gathering dust – possibly windows 7 or 8?
    I’m not sure of the spec, but possibly 4 gb of ram and an AMD processor of some type.
    I want to repurpose it for using in the man cave for:
    You tube
    Spotify
    Logging into iCloud
    general web-based buggering about

I’m more Mac than PC, and I don’t want windows 10 on it, so I’m thinking a linux build would probably do what I need without the pain of anti virus etc.

So what flavour of linux that’s easy to install, will work fine on older spec machines and is likely to have the drivers for the lenovo?

Ta

simondbarnes

I’ve been using Mint on my Samsung laptop for a couple years now. Has been perfect. Just try running it from a USB stick first to make sure it all works nicely.

Cougar

I’d go with Lubuntu there myself. All the fun of Ubuntu without the pain of Unity.

I don’t want windows 10 on it

Why?

geoffj

I don’t want windows 10 on it

Why?

I’m a mac fanboi. I need to use Windows 10 for work, but I just don’t like it. I find some elements confusing and for what I need the lenovo to do, I can’t be arsed with dealing with the updates and malware threats.

B.A.Nana
    Free Member

Linux Mint here also (on a £400 laptop of MS Vista age) . I actually bought online (£7.50 I think) a pack of discs with 5 different Linux options to try. Tried them all and went with Linux Mint, but I can’t now recall why Linux Mint particularly. Works well tho.

bob_summers

Mint is great as suggested, I’m a fedora user but I tend to stick Elementary OS on older laptops I’ve been asked to spruce up. It’s got a Mac os feel to it, and it’s a very minimal install so you just add the stuff you want. Lenovos are generally very well supported by linux but you can search the model number to check compatability.

squirrelking
    Free Member