Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 61 total)
  • What do you think of my first sourdough loaf?
  • sprootlet
    Free Member

Hi

I’ve made my starter, 6 days in the making …..
    This is the first bread so be gentle with me ….. what do you think ?

https://cloud.sproot.org.uk/s/D563HBarCygMKZT

Crust and crumb has a nice chew to it and really surprised at the colour of the crumb bearing in mind it was made with white bread flour.

Made a change from my usual yeasted offerings and quite enjoyed making it but it does take such a long time to make it, My plan is for sourdough pizza bases, I’m not sure how many loaves I’m going to bother with.

sproot
    Free Member

In my (obviously completely unbiased) opinion, it was delicious…

dc1988

Looks good, but I’m no expert. I love the idea of sourdough but can’t be bothered with the time investment. I’ve been perfecting baguettes in lockdown and enjoy them so much I haven’t really felt like moving on from them.

thejesmonddingo

Looks good, show us the crumb, please. I’ve just started again , after a long lay off, and it’s taking a bit of getting back into.

thepurist

My plan is for sourdough pizza bases

Sounds like you’ll be needing a pizza oven…

boobs

Good effort, wTch the massive weight gain 😉

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

Looks great, well done, gives a huge sense of satisfaction.

In reality, it’s no more work than normal bread, my pizza recipe takes more work than sourdough does.

No need for a pizza oven tp, I managed for years without one…

*They are way better though! 😆

myti
    Free Member

Looks great. There was a sourdough thread on here last year with loads of photos, recipes and tips that’s worth looking at.

J-R

It looks far too good for a first effort – hope it tastes as good too.

MrSmith
    Free Member

It has blisters on the crust which is good but it all depends on what’s going on inside!

Sandwich

Come on show us the crumb OP.

Poopscoop

Blimey, that looks bloody good!👍

grum