Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • What do I need to Bleed my Shimano Brakes?
  • Duggan

I’ve never done this before but going to give it a bash.

I’m happy to follow the set of instructions here:

http://techdocs.shimano.com/media/techdocs/content/cycle/SI/SI_0040A_001/SI_0040A_001_En_v1_m56577569830615981.pdf

The thing is I’m having trouble working out exactly what I need. The allen key and also 7mm socket wrench for the bleed nipple are fine, I probably have those.

The thing is if I google ‘Shimano bleed kit’ then I get two results:

‘shimano bleed kit and oil’ (’50ml bottle of mineral oil, length of bleed pipe’)

‘Shimano Bleed Kit M575’ (this is the plastic yellow funnel thing with the stopper and nothing else)

So I’m surprised that I can’t buy the whole shooting match in one go but happy to buy the above products separately, whatever.

But the other thing is the guy in the instructions above uses a syringe as well as a length of tube with a plastic bag on the end and these don’t appear to be included in the bleed kit- presumably I have to procure these separately somewhere?

I really thought I’d just be able to buy the whole lot in one go.

The problem is I’m pretty woeful at maintenance so could really do with being able to follow the above instructions by rote, step by step otherwise I know I’ll just fu*k it up- any bodge jobs, workarounds, home-made solutions will doubtless be beyond me.

Is there really nowhere I can get the whole lot in one go? And if not, where can I get the syringe, tube and plastic bag thing?

I’m going to mess this up, aren’t I?

Brakes are M575 btw

steve_b77
    Free Member

Bleed kit from epic bleed solutions on eBay

Dales_rider
    Free Member

Dont bother with a bleed kit, bleeding brakes is a waste of time and a ball ache.
    Empty the system and just fill it back up using a syringe and plastic tube.

dannybgoode

Do they need bleeding? If not don’t bother basically.

Cheers

Danny B

uwe-r
    Free Member