Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • What do I need for a decent garage workout?
  • Superficial
    Free Member

I’m new to the whole turbo training thing but I’m keen to improve my fitness over winter – or at least not lose it. What do I need to get started? I think something like Trainerroad or Sufferfest is probably a good idea because I know from the few ‘training’ rides I’ve done on road that I won’t motivate myself to do intervals without being shouted at.

I’ve separated my rambling essay into questions.

1) I’m aware of the whole rollers vs turbo argument but I’m gonna try a turbo. That’s the first hurdle. Can I get away with using my commuter bike wheel? It’s running Conti Gatorskins.

2) My garage is under someone else’s flat. Will they hear the noise of a turbo? Is it worth spending extra on a quieter one?

3) I have a Garmin Edge 510 with speed / cadence / HRM. I can, I think, upload various training profiles to this, although I’ve never used that function. Should I try and use that?

4) Alternatively I can presumably get a Bluetooth ANT+ dongle and pair the various sensors with my laptop (a Macbook Pro FWIW). Obviously it’s possible to go mental with various sensors/monitors etc but I’m not under any misapprehensions of grandeur – I’m not a career athlete!

5) At the moment I’m erring towards just buying a basic turbo and getting a couple of the sufferfest videos. Sufferfest doesn’t need anything special beyond the bike, does it? Any reason why I should spend more?

muppetWrangler
    Free Member

1) Probably, The worst that might happen is you’ll either wear the tyre out quicker than you’d like or possibly the tyre might slip under load. Give it a go first but if either of those happen then a cheap rear wheel and a turbo specific tyre would sort you out. But give it a go as is first you’ll probably be fine.

2) Stick a mat down to deaden the vibrations and you should be OK.