Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 40 total)
  • Washing machine and dryer upstairs?!
  • stox
    Free Member

Moving soon. New build. Family Bathroom has a rather large cupboard (with a door on) at the end of the bath.
    Downstairs Utility has an integrated washing machine.

We’d like to do away with the integrated washing machine and I suggested putting our stand alone washing machine and stand alone dryer in the cupboard upstairs.

Thinking about it, the clothes normally go downstairs for washing so surely it’s much easier to just take them straight into the bathroom.

We’d need a socket in the cupboard and we’d need to sort the plumbing. Now I’m no electrician or plumber but I’m assuming having the bath taps 5’ away means it shouldn’t be too big a job to sort?

Any experts in to poo poo the idea? Anything else I ought to be considering with this idea?!

robola

How strong is the floor? We have a washing machine upstairs and the whole house shakes when it spins. My dad’s house also upstairs, it was so bad I had to screw 2 layers of 18mm ply to the floor under it to try and minimise the vibration.

stumpyjon

Makes sense to me, I think having a washing machine in the bathroom is quite common in Southern European countries.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    footflaps

Yep, washer and dryer in the bathroom is pretty standard in Europe.

phil5556

Totally makes sense, our washing machine is about as far away as possible from where all our clothes are.

Occasionally it’s really handy that it’s by the side door for chucking muddy stuff straight in but the the rest of the time it would be better upstairs.

Only thing is we run it over night with off peak electric and can’t hear it where it is.

Blazin-saddles
    Free Member