• This topic has 65 replies, 27 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by D0NK.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 66 total)
  • Videoing the commute?
  • scratch
    Free Member

Just been brushed by a coach on the way to work, luckily enough the vehicle in particular had the company name on the back in huge letters…so I’ve just phoned to report the driver, I’ve never done this before but I’ve just had enough of it at the moment.

Was thinking about a go-pro for the lid to give evidence of near misses, but, is it actually worth anything unless you get hit?
    Would anything come of reporting this stuff or am I just making a rod for my own back?

geoffj

it’ll turn you into a youtube commuting warrior. You’ll end up looking for confrontation rather than actively avoiding it. IMHO

scratch
    Free Member

I know what you mean,

I’ve been riding to work for 8 years, always obey the rules of the road, there’s a couple of tight sections on quite a busy road where a truck will have to wait to pass for 4/500 meters, I pretty much always pull over at these points to allow traffic to pass, I’m doing my best and not actively looking for trouble.

Just gets a bit much when all you really want to do is ride in to work without being taken out….

allthepies
    Free Member

This is not true of course 🙂

I now use a helmet cam for my commute and have yet to post ranty videos up to youtube or “look for confrontation”.

kimbers

i was just passed by a guy commuting thru brentford with one of these

mounted the other way up on his stem with a cable going to his backpack

project
    Free Member

it’ll turn you into a youtube commuting warrior. You’ll end up looking for confrontation rather than actively avoiding it. IMHO

Load of shit, so all natioanl express buses and coaches are fitted with cctv for the same reason, along with telematics that send real time reports aboput location and speed , aceleration and braking back to base garage/depot.

Lots of info here