Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Very short man confused about bike size
  • shortyman
    Free Member

Hello everyone! I’m 5’1″ tall and I’m confused about the mountain bike sizes. Which size should I pick – 14″ frame MTB or kid’s 26″ wheel bike? Need your suggestions. Thanks!

honourablegeorge

According to the size guide for Santa Cruz bikes, you’re on the borderline between their XS and Small sizes, so not on a kid’s bike yet. What kind d of bike/budget had you in mind?

https://www.santacruzbicycles.com/en-GB/bikes/5010

benos

My 150cm daughter does well on 27.5, and I’m 172cm on a medium 29er. I think you’d do well on 27.5, and that would be more betterer and more compatibler.

shortyman
    Free Member

Mountain bike. I’m a newbie and I don’t want to spend much. So, budget is probably around 1000. And Santa cruz is really expensive for me. I’ll look for XS sizes then. Thanks for your reply.

benos

You might fit a small if you have proportionally long limbs. A size S Nukeproof scout 275 or Vitus Sentier starts at 5’2”-5’3” which isn’t far off, and have 380mm seat tubes. They look good value around the £1000 mark.

robola

I’ve recently been looking for a similar sized bike, bang on an extra small for specialized. Usually some healthy discounts around for that size too – Rockhopper no idea if any good, just an example.

matt_outandabout

I’m 5’1″ tall

So is mrs_oab.

She currently rides an xs Liv Lust.

And xs Liv Invite.
    Mudguard Fitting

She used to ride a 13.5″ Trek Superlight.
    And before that a Cannondale F900SL.
    Seen here together.

In our experience, many small or XS frames really are not that small. Many still fit long cranks. And a few mm’s is more important the shorter you are.

There’s a good few Liv or Giant xs full suspension and hardtail for under £1k on eBay at present.

noeffsgiven
    Free Member

Recommending liv or Giant, Nnnnnoooooo.😀

noeffsgiven
    Free Member