Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 40 total)
  • Ventoux six weeks after chemotherapy. Discuss.
  • bullheart
    Free Member

Morning all,

I’m well aware that I owe the forum an update, and promise I shall do so in the next few days or so. Rough breakdown; 6months/8 sessions of chemo, bit rough, not particularly fit, interesting neuropathy in hands and feet. Off to Provence in a couple of weeks, and thought I’d have a pop at Ventoux whilst in the area, as it looks a bit like Box Hill. Except slightly bigger.

I’m not a total idiot – I suspect it’ll take me a fair amount of time, plus the tumours in my arm/arse won’t help, but wanted to call upon the wisdom of the STW elite about the following;

Time of day? Fuel? Spares? Route? Is it nippy on the way back down? Any mods to the bike prior to setting off?

Thanks my lovelies!

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

I have no useful experience of riding up Ventoux post chemo to share, but good luck!

DezB
    Free Member

By christ, what a legend 😆 good luck with that!

oldnpastit

Great to see you back!

It is an epic ride but if you are happy to take your time and spin up in a low gear you should be fine. My son did it age 15 and he wasn’t very fit at all. Take plenty of water and cake.

If you go from Bedouin then there is the cafe about 2/3 of the way up.

beej

I read somewhere recently that “Ventoux is the never the same climb twice”. It can be hot, cold, windy, dry, rainy – maybe all in one ride. So it’s tricky to give advice on time of day or weather.

Have low gears. Choose the time based on the conditions. Have clothing for all possible circumstances.

There are three ways up – the easiest is the longest from Sault but less iconic. Bedoin is the TdF classic, possibly the hardest. Malaucene is similar to Bedoin, more exposed as you don’t ride through the forest. I found Malaucene easier but that’s probably because I did it first.