Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Using a Mac Mini as a Server for a small business…?
  • mboy
    Free Member

Right, first things first, I’m very au fait with Mac’s (and pretty competent with PC’s) in a standalone environment. I can do any maintenance required, and even pull them apart to fix them if required.

I have ZERO experience of servers though! So have no clue as to what would be ideal, and how to set a system up.

The brief is that this will be a small business, with probably a couple of iMac’s (or Mac Mini’s) as work stations, possibly a PC, my MacBookPro a couple of iPad’s and a couple of iPhones all needing to be connected (not necessarily at the same time). The data storage requirements will not be big at all, just a database behind an EPOS system, the EPOS software itself, and the occasional MS Office document, hence was thinking a Mac Mini would be enough. But will it? And given my low data storage requirements, would it be wise to use an SSD in the server (with an external USB/Thunderbolt HDD backing up via Time Machine) to increase data transfer rates, or will this not be an issue?

And I know that Mac do a specific Server version of the Mini, but as far as I can see, it’s the same as the regular Mini now, just with a 2nd HDD added (and I don’t need the storage), and OSX Server pre installed. Given that OSX Server is £13.99 from the App Store, and a normal Mac Mini is a LOT cheaper, would that suffice?

skids
    Free Member

what do you want the server for?

Ewan
    Free Member

Have a read of this:
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/08/30/review_apple_mountain_lion_server_os_x_10_8/

Sounds like you want a standard one and the above. Also read the comments on the article for peoples sometimes informed opinions.

mboy
    Free Member

what do you want the server for?

Not obvious enough from my original post? 😕