Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Upgrade to Boardman team FS
  • Stainypants

I’m getting a Boardman Team FS this summer here a link to the spec. I’m going to put a set of Hope Hoops on it. But I will have £300 to spend on accessories or upgrades at RRP. What upgrade above the wheels do the singletrack collective think I should go for. I was thing a Reverb post, as I was going to wait till the drive train wears out and upgrade to 1 x 11 when it gets to sensible price.

Alternatively I’m also getting a Boardman team road bike but I can’t really see anything to upgrade on it, it will be used for 30-40 mile rides around the peaks and Cheshire plains but am i missing something

Nick

bearnecessities

I am by no means an expert on current tech, so won’t be offering my worthless suggestions…

…but, if you are buying a new boardman, fitting it with Hope wheels and then have £300 to spend, should you not be reconsidering investing this and cost of wheels into a much better specified whole bike?

No disrespect, and the bike may have qualities I’m not aware of 😀

johnnystorm

Wear the original bits out first. You’ll then enjoy the bike anew with fresh upgrades.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    Stainypants

No, i already have the wheels and I get the money free because I’m buying the boardmans as part of my bike to work scheme. So effectively I can have one of the best specc’d bikes you can get for a grand (before tax) and £300 to spend on extras, with the wheels its already better specc’d than bikes costing significantly more. I don’t want to waste the £300 on rubbish. I agree about wearing out the drive train and the brakes and hence why I thought the dropper post would add to the bike rather than getting a small improvement by replacing perfectly serviceable components.