Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Umbrella Company Payslip Experts – Got a Question?
  • redthunder
    Free Member

I’m new to this, but the payslip does not seem right at first glance.

Does this look right to you guys ?

Why am I paying Employers’ National Insurance?

I may as well stay Self Employed !

Not signed the dotted yet. But it concerns me 🙁 Umbrella companies = seem spivy to me)

Any thoughts ,

RT

rugbydick

You’re not paying Employer’s NI. The umbrella is paying it from the total that they invoice the client.

Your gross pay in the example above is £403.58

EDIT: Umbrella companies are some of the worst organisations you will ever come across

julians
    Free Member

You pay employers ni because the govt deems you to be a disguised employee.

You may not like it,but that’s the way it is when working through an umbrella and inside ir35

redthunder
    Free Member

My daily rate would £90 a day £450 per week. I would expect to see £484.80 invoiced to agency and possibly apprenticeship levy ?

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

My daily rate would £90 a day £450 per week. I would expect to see £484.80 invoiced to agency and possibly apprenticeship levy ?

No, not how umbrella companies work.

They’re a hack to get you from an invoiced amount to a PAYE payckeck. So all the costs incurred in making that transfer are taken out of the invoiced amount.

rugbydick

What TINAS said.

Also, if you’re working for an umbrella IR35 isn’t applicable so you can stop using Treasury/HMRC’s anti-contractor language of “disguised employment”

redthunder
    Free Member

Thanks people.

I think I will avoid these shady outfits. Umbrella companies seem like a true tory invention 🙁

RT

oldtennisshoes

I think I will avoid these shady outfits.
    There can’t be many, if any, folk who choose to use one.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

I think I will avoid these shady outfits. Umbrella companies seem like a true tory invention 🙁

Depends how you look at it.