Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Tyre Question: Conti GP 5000 25mm vs 28mm
  • adri_76
    Free Member

Hi all, I am planning to change tyres on my Specialized Tarmac SL6 – wheels are stock ones with DT470R rims, 21mm internal, 24mm external width, 24mm deep, so shallow rims.
    At the moment I am running 25mm Victoria Rubino Pro 2.0 and thinking to switch to Conti GP 5000 25mm or 28mm. In terms of rolling resistance, it should be a faster tyre. Future plan is to buy some carbon 40mm-ish wheels with wider rims (29mm-30mm external width) – which would be your choice to have the most balanced benefits in terms of RR, aero and comfort? I think the aero gain derived from the 105% rule, with such shallow rims, it’s minimal, but it would be there with deeper rims. Some more data: I am 5.10 (179cm), 70-71kg, avg speed on flat 34km/h (21mph), I run both flat courses and hilly terrain. Thanks for your insights!

Northwind

I’m not a proper road rider tbh but for me, bigger has always been better- more comfortable, more stable, and faster on average. I’m not fast over distance mind, maybe aero would be more of an issue if you’re battering out fast flats but then road roughness has the same effect regardless.

(though, my GP5000s cracked pretty prematurely which was annoying- now on Schwalbe 32s)

n0b0dy0ftheg0at
    Free Member

25mm front and either 28mm or even 32mm rear for your current wheels.

But if you intend to get the new wheels before end of this summer, maybe get a 28mm and 32mm now.

I ran 23mm front and 25mm rear on 17/19mm interal rim wheels last summer, they felt quick compared to ~32mm (big 28s) GP4000S IIs on Hunt Aero Disc Light and Fulcrum Racing Sport 77DB wheels i.e. not terribly deep.

adri_76
    Free Member

Thanks for the suggestion!

adri_76
    Free Member

(though, my GP5000s cracked pretty prematurely which was annoying- now on Schwalbe 32s)