Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Tubeless for Dummies
  • franksinatra

I’m about to take delivery of a new gravel bike and, for the first time in my biking life, tubeless tyres.

I literally know nothing about how they work

What do I do if I get a puncture when I’m out and about? Do I still need to carry a spare tube? Do I need any new tools? How do I avoid looking like Badger?

I’ve been riding bikes for 30 years but I feel like a newbie. Please school me!

igm

Dynaplug, a decent hand pump and maybe a CO2 cartridge is standard.

I also carry a valve core remover and a 2oz bottle of Stans – but that’s because I never remember to check / top up my sealant.

Spare inner good if you get rock slash punctures, but useless if you ride near hawthorn as the tyre will be full of sealed in thorns.

Take mini pliers to remove the valve stem if you take an inner tube – the sealant gums up the locking ring.

docrobster
    Free Member

Literally cannot remember the last time I had to deal with a puncture with a tubeless tyre (mtb)
    I carry a kit- stans dart thing I got someone to get me for my birthday a year or two ago- but never needed to use it.
    When I’ve had to in the past- on old bikes with narrower rims and less good tyres that would sometimes tear near the bead, they are fixed by stuffing a couple of the worms in covered in glue and reinflating trail side. Quicker than replacing a tube.
    Over time the liquid dries up and they may go down between rides. The usual solution is add more fluid. Eventually years later the ball of solidified latex in the tyre becomes a noticeable problem so you whip the tyre off and start again.
    Get a floor pump with a chamber to help seat the bead.